Dennis Blog – Just another blog.


How-to: Create PDF forms with OpenOffice

Posted in Tutorials by Dennis on 2 July 2008
Tags: , ,

Hi everybody,

under these month I’ve been managing a lot of burocracy due to my Erasmus period which will start in August in Tampere, Finland. Among all the forms I had to fill in, I recieved a PDF file from Finland which actually was a form. I hadn’t seen such files before! So I asked me: How do I create one of them? So after some tries… here you are! My experience.

Why
But why should you need to create such a form? Well, PDF forms are really much better than *.doc or *.odt forms. That’s because in a PDF files fields remain exaclty where you put them and you can set plenty of intresting parameters. They are easily online-fillable and this is nowadays really important.

How
To create a PDF Form you will need OpenOffice. As far as I know Microsoft Office doesn’t support PDF export (but I heard this feauter will be implemented in the next version of Office). You can easily get the OpenOffice suite here: http://www.openoffice.org/

There is not a big difference between OpenOffice and Microsoft Office for what concerns the GUI (Graphical User Interface). So even if you are new to OpenOffice and used to work with MS Office you should not find any big difficulty in working on this easy stuff.

Open now OpenOffice Writer. Here you are. You can now handle this page as you usually do as any other written document. But your question surely is: How do I insert form controls/fields?

To insert Form controls and fields go on View -> Toolbars -> Form Controls .This will show you a toolbar with plenty of useful form stuff such as Labels, Text Boxes, Check Boxes, etc…
In this toolbar you will also find another useful button, More Controls which allows you to insert even more controls.

Inserting form controls in your page should not be a problem. Just find a layout you like. You can treat this elements exactly as any other element like an image, a paragraph or whatever. With a right click on the object you can modify its properties. Really intresting are the “Control…” and “Data…” entries which allow you to set advanced properties of your newly creted object.

Once you have created your form it’s time to create the PDF file. You can click on the “Export directly as PDF” button directly from OpenOffice’s standard bar or either go on File->Export as PDF and select some more advanced options.

There you are! Now you have your PDF Form. You can fill it and print it obtaining a really standard piece of paper, useful if you have to collect lots of the same information from many people.

Pay attention
Please note that you PDF module won’t be saveable. People just have to fill it in and take a print in order not to loose their work!

That’s it. Hope this will be of some help for somebody. Otherwise it has been a great exercise in written English for me! :)

39 Responses to 'How-to: Create PDF forms with OpenOffice'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'How-to: Create PDF forms with OpenOffice'.

  1. Shailendra said,

    Hi Dennis,

    I had created a PDF Form which I had used for a legal agreement with my Vendor.

    But when I went back to create another one a few weeks later, I had completely forgotten about it.

    Thanks for the article on creating a PDF Form.
    It helped me recall all the steps.

    Regards,
    Shailendra

  2. Bill said,

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I’ve been searching for a way to produce a Form Fillable pdf for quite some time.
    I work with a non profit organization, we can not afford the professional software that is available.
    Ive been using Ooo for some time, never knew I could do this.

    By the way, install Cutepdf (should still be freeware) it is a virtual printer.
    File->Print-.Cutepdf “Prints” a copy to the desktop, or wherever you choose. Open it, Badda-Boom Badda-Bing! You know have a form filled pdf!!


  3. [...] Re: "$5 To Anyone Who TELLS ME: How to Make PDF TEMPLATES With OpenOffice?" I found it. How-to: Create PDF forms with OpenOffice Dennis Blog – Just another blog. [...]

  4. Deepak said,

    Hi Dennis

    Thanks for the nice help i have tried with open office but didn’t ee the expert as PDF option their after reading your blog i will look at it again

    Thanks for Really helpful content

    Deepak

  5. Anne Marie said,

    Hey I was wondering if you could help me. I made a pdf through Soffice but am not sure as to how to set the security so that it can’t be exported as text. I would like it so that that text cannot be edited altered or exported, just printed out from the pdf. Do you have any advice?

  6. Dennis said,

    Hi Anne Marie,
    I am very sorry, but I cannot help you with this problem, I do really not have enough knowledge. I can tell you to post somewhere on a forum where you can find more people willing to help you… :(

  7. Tres said,

    you can save the modified form as filled outside of printing a hard copy, just print the filled in form as a pdf, it will create a pdf of the filled in pdf….


  8. [...] Creating PDF Forms with Productivity Software How-to: Create PDF forms with OpenOffice « Dennis Blog – Just another blog. [...]

  9. Mario said,

    Hi Anne Marie,
    You can set up the security by clicking on the security box while exporting your odt document to pdf.

    Another interesting thing to consider is that programs like Okular, will allow the user to fill the form and save the contents.

  10. nobotz said,

    Is it possible to add a digital signature field to the PDF form thus created.


  11. [...] It's not pretty (OpenOffice or PDF forms), but it does work – Link [...]

  12. Michael Shaley said,

    THANK YOU

    You have made me look like a genius at work.

    After finding this post and working with it I was able to scan in a much used office form as a JPG and then import the picture into Writer, and create my form fields on the JPG image,

    export,

    Our people already have Primo PDF running.
    You are the genius – I’m just getting the credit for Googling you.
    Michael
    Oxnard, California

  13. Alfredo said,

    Adobe reader does not allow you to save the form but there is an alternative. Foxit Reader allows you to save it and it’s free. http://www.foxitsoftware.com


  14. Question… I made a fillable pdf in oo, but it keeps skipping a field and it’s not moving in a logical order… (in other words I created the fields in the order I expected them to be filled out in, but when I tab through… it doesn’t follow in order and as I said skips on field… suggestions?

  15. Ian said,

    Hi Anne Marie,
    Make sure you have downloaded Open Office 3.
    File/Export as PDF gives the option using the security tag to set a password to prevent editing. There is also another option to prevent it being opened without a password.
    The General tag gives options of setting the compression ratio and other useful things.

  16. Dave Satwicz said,

    After creating a document, with some fields, I exported it as a PDF. When I click on the file it opens in Adobe reader. However I cannot enter data into the fields.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Dave


  17. [...] order to create the template, I simply followed this tutorial: How-to: Create PDF forms with OpenOffice. It is as simple as creating a new document in Open Office, dropping in some text field controls, [...]

  18. Migiomymn said,

    Many Say PeopleString Social Network That Pays is A Scam.
    I just joined, and before I waste my time, I just wanted to get other peoples opinion on this site. Please PM me and tell
    me what you think. Thanks in advance!

    Peoplestring Review

  19. Banks said,

    tesekkurlerimi sunuyorum andreudwards’a


  20. Another interesting thing to consider is that programs like Okular, will allow the user to fill the form and save the contents.

  21. J-F Bohemier said,

    Thanks for this useful post! A time saver for me… No need to recreate all fields in Acrobat when I modify the page….

  22. Michael said,

    So I created a form for users to fill in data and everything works fine up until I go to close the form. At this point it asks me to Save or not. Is there any way to disable this and have it default not save the entered data. Users being users will sometimes not bother looking at whats on their screen and save the form.

    Thanks

  23. Juan P. said,

    Thank you very much, for clear howto. And thanks to Tres, the idea of print pdf as a pdf is very good.

  24. Quora said,

    What is the simplest way to create PDF forms on a Mac?…

    Hey Jared…. The question I answered did not really ask about “fillable” forms but as a matter of fact, I have made them using open office using a workaround I found on a blog. I cannot find my original blog post but I have one here that references …

  25. Teej said,

    Is there a way to possibly have the form submitted or emailed back to you once someone fills it out? That way there is no need for printing?

  26. irmaLAdouce said,

    perfect.

  27. Ben said,

    Good stuff! Thanks so much!

    Another great program is NITROREADER, free from PrimoPDF. You can save the form, comment, add text, etc. An amazing and helpful program!

  28. richardmhain said,

    Great info!!! Thanks…

  29. Christian said,

    Hi dennis. Thanks for this. I have a question. I already created a document that I want to be my form. Is there anyway of saving my already made document into a form? Or can I cut an paste it into a form document.

    I didn’t know about Form mode when I did this.
    Thanks
    Christian

  30. Nick said,

    Is there any way to make the pdf saveable? I need people to be able to go into the form and make changes, save and send back to me.

    Thanks

  31. Matt said,

    When I used the current openoffice with this tutorial, and foxit pdf reader. My form was save-able. I thought it might be just a fluke of the local software, but all the data was there when I emailed it to a co-worker.

    Thanks for this tutorial. It will be a great help.

  32. Eric said,

    As far as I know there is no way to save these forms.
    I search all over.
    The Foxit program someone mentioned above requires the user to download the free foxit program, no one I know is going to do that.

    Still a good tutorial. I wish there were some way to put the form on the web. Even using google docs requires the user to open a gmail account. Not very user friendly.

  33. lederer said,

    Use Foixt PDF Reader to open, change fields, and save.


  34. To save the filled-in document just print it through some PDF printing tool, i.e. PDFCreator

  35. JBI said,

    Greatly appreciate this info.

  36. andrei said,

    just tried this on my mac, and the pdf IS saveable (from Preview)

  37. dr memals said,

    add a “push button” and set the “action” to “submit form”

  38. Douglas said,

    Dennis, I created the form as you said and exported it as a PDF document however in the PDF version I cannot not typed in the information that is required. What am I doing wrong?? Please advise

  39. Mark said,

    Hi Dennis. I created a form and exported it as a PDF. There are some fields (such as date or phone number) that are patterned or formatted so that they will show correctly when inputting data. Are these fields exportable to a PDF because I can enter numbers but they do not follow the patterns I put in place. Thanks for your help!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

